PDA

View Full Version : New to drywall. Painting - do I need to seal

Jason Smith
06-04-2014, 10:09 AM
Hi, I am new to Drywall.

After jointing, do I need to seal the plasterboard prior to painting. What would others recommend for the best finish.

amestaper
06-04-2014, 06:46 PM
Hi Jason. Give it a coat of either sealer or primer so it equalises the suction and eliminates flashing in the tapes. The best finish i saw for drywall was level 5, there is a short demo and you can look it up in our downloads section.

forestbhoy
06-04-2014, 10:49 PM
Hi Jason. Give it a coat of either sealer or primer so it equalises the suction and eliminates flashing in the tapes. The best finish i saw for drywall was level 5, there is a short demo and you can look it up in our downloads section.

But isnt level 5 effectivly just skiming the wall like plaster...can see how the wall would be the one texture, but it surely would be quicker to plaster it...?

Beermonster
07-04-2014, 12:39 PM
Hi, I am new to Drywall.

After jointing, do I need to seal the plasterboard prior to painting. What would others recommend for the best finish.
Use dulux fast matt first,
If u r using vinyl matt paint!! Or sheetrock sealer is good stuff and a whole bunch cheaper!!

sq ames taper
07-04-2014, 07:31 PM
johnstones drwall primer, dries solid white and is much better than normal drywall primer

currierplastering
08-04-2014, 05:02 PM
But isnt level 5 effectivly just skiming the wall like plaster...can see how the wall would be the one texture, but it surely would be quicker to plaster it...?

We do both systems. Level 5 is quicker then gypsum and superior in quality

forestbhoy
08-04-2014, 08:40 PM
We do both systems. Level 5 is quicker then gypsum and superior in quality