Thread: Technique and method beginner question.

Thanks

Question Technique and method beginner question.

Hi all, i wanted to know what method is the quickest and easiest to tape butt joints, external joints and normal board to board joints? also which tools are used. im a beginner and want to develop the best technique to advance as a taper and jointer easier. many thanks.

Thanks

I use scrim tape for flat joints (tapered edge, and butt joints ) Paper tape for all internal joints and flex tape for external corners. Everyone's different though Tee so its whatever suits you. I know TonyM will come on and slate me for using flex tape(he thinks its sh!te) , other tapers hate scrim tape with a vengeance cos they prefer to use paper tape thru the bazooka.
    Try out the advice given by a few tapers and take what suits you. No two tapers work the same way, its just whatever you feel comfortable doing.

Thanks

what is this flex tape you speak of? the tapes most commonly used by the company i work for is fiber tape, paper corner tape (internal) and the metal external strip paper tape (forgot its proper name) just trying to develop a technique for doing it all by hand using a 4", 6" filling knife and a 14 inch trowel to fill skirting gaps for example. i have noticed even today that if i spend too much time trying to perfect the finishing aimz coat on window reveals for example i get really frustrated, any tips on that as it would help me with my internals and externals? thanks.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Tee17 View Post