Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to taping and jointing

Thanks

Default New to taping and jointing

Hi I'm new to this and would like some help the company I work for does a lot of office fit outs and instead of getting tapers in we have started into looking to do it ourselves, I see over in the UK you can do part time courses to learn and was wondering is there such a thing over here in Ireland, I have some know how but would love to learn from an experienced person to get good and quick, also what is the best way to finish butt joints some people we got done them with scrim tape but as soon as there painted over you can see the bumps in the wall which stands out badly hope some one can help.
    thanks in advance.

Season Ticket Holder
    Thanks

Leave the scrim at home for a start!
    (This will go down well)
    Bust the joints out 12 either side and skim it in with a trowel or knife which will help!
    But u can't hide everything unless u plaster the whole wall/Ceileng!

Thanks

Why leave the scrim at home???? The less build up you have on a joint/bump the better so if scrim adds less then it's best, in any case the wiser you coat out a bump the better it looks simple as that!!

Thanks

oopps should say wider........not wiser!

Thanks

I'd always scrim tape a button joint less build up and especially in an office fit out.. as said above less build up..

Getting the hang of this
    Thanks

Fibafuse sits down real nice on butts.

Season Ticket Holder
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by rabbyc View Post
    Why leave the scrim at home???? The less build up you have on a joint/bump the better so if scrim adds less then it's best, in any case the wiser you coat out a bump the better it looks simple as that!!
    Read my post again!
    I 12 box either side of butt joints so that would b like 24 inches wide!! (Simple as that LOL)
    And I would never trust scrim on a butt joint.

Season Ticket Holder
    Thanks