Thread: Fixing boards

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Fixing boards

Just something i have always wondered but never got around to asking... why here in the UK do we fix boards vertically with the bound edges joining side to side, and in the states, Canada and most of Europe, they fix horizontally with the none bound edges forming the vertical joint?... I have been fixing for 15 years so is there something i have been missing?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    229 Posts

Someone once told me they can buy longer boards in the states than is available here. Maybe this has something to do with it?
    Your messages are really important to us
    ...but not important enough to employ a sufficient number of support staff to answer them.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    161 Posts

The Americans reckon that laying the boards horizontally cuts down on the number of joints, and also, because the board is spanning more studs, adds extra bracing to the wall construction. I fix boards horizontally sometimes if working on older buildings with imperial stud spacing, but to me it's more awkward to tape, running the boxes on their side. The Americans will say differently though. Surprisingly, a lot of commercial jobs in the US are hung vertically. When you consider that you can get up to 24' plasterboards over there, and 54" wide, then you could in effect have only 4 horizontal joints on the walls in most normal sized rooms, and maybe 2 or 3 on the ceilings. I think anything over 16' has to be special order though.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Question answered, Cheers lads. 24' boards!! i will never complain about 2400x1200, 15mm soundblock boards, on ceilings again.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    161 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by danmonken View Post