Visit Belmore Tools online shop

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    229 Posts

Default NVQ2 in drylining

Are skilled trademen dropping out the building game because of the bullshit paperwork involved to stay in operation?

I learned a few months ago that to continue operating on site after 2010 I need to obtain an NVQ 2 in dryling even though I have 16 years on site experience. This job wasnt even officially recognized as a trade when I started for f**ks sake! My suspicions are my pockets are about to be picked, I will have to take time off and travel to some far away place for a few days. How expensive will it be to demonstrate to a stranger with a clipboard I'm able do my job to an acceptable standard?

Anyone had to do this recently? Any help would be appreciated.
    Your messages are really important to us
    ...but not important enough to employ a sufficient number of support staff to answer them.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    15 Posts

Arrow

I have heard no such thing, but i am going to be following this with interest. I have often thought we NEEDED a set standard here. but i don't trust a govt bureau to set it intelligently
    Plumb and Level are the framer's perogative ...I can give you flat and straight... www.lightrocktaping.com

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Lightrock For This Useful Post:

amestaper (04-07-2009)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    161 Posts

It can be done with on site assessments by some cock that knows bugger all about the trade, but who has paid for a license to be able to assess. And its going to cost you about 500 notes.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to TonyM For This Useful Post:

amestaper (04-07-2009)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    229 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Lightrock View Post