New members. Please say hello and introduce yourself here.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default New & needing advice..

Hi,
    I have recently left the large format printing industry as I became frustrated with the type of work I was doing.
    I would like to go down the route of dry wall finishing. I have a good eye for detail from my printing & graphics background.

However, I have zero experience in the dry wall finishing trade. I am 40 years old and want to change my career and have the freedom of working for myself in the future.
    Is there a standard way to go about gaining experience? Do I need to work with someone/company first of all or am I best completing a course and then to work for somebody?

I am currently unemployed as I left the graphics trade as I wanted a complete break from it as I lost the desire for that type of work.
    I really need to get my working life back on track asap. I hope that the members of this forum can point me in the right direction!

Or (bit of a long shot..) if there is anyone who needs a hand so I can gain experience I am available straightaway...I live in Manchester.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to your responses.

Cheers,
    Lee

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    229 Posts

Hi Lee. Welcome!